Discover local events and activities near our Guayaquil hotel. Whether it's indulging in our exquisite cuisine or enjoying our beautiful scenery, there is something for everyone while staying at Hotel del Parque


The route of the seven churches

July 07, 2020
Metropolitan Cathedral of Guayaquil

The route of the seven churches

Guayaquil is a city that has expressed its spirituality through culture, religion, art and traditions. Since its establishment and settlement at the foot of the Cerrito Verde in 1540, there were several Religious Orders that built temples and chapels. The name of Santiago de Guayaquil comes from a Spanish tradition that aims to keep alive the memory of Santiago el Mayor, one of the Apostles of Christ. A group of cities in America bear the name Santiago before the name of the city.

Guayaquil has at least 8 heritage churches. Each one with its own history and characteristics. Tourists can appreciate the characteristics of the time of the colony visiting the churches of the city.

Route of the seven churches

La Peñas

The Catholics of Guayaquil are very devoted and faithful people and have faith rituals that form part of a cultural tradition of the city, which have become a tourist attraction that today is known as “Route of Faith” within the tourist and religious spheres.

The tour of the seven churches is a tradition in Guayaquil, which is to visit several heritage temples located in the Historic Center of the city.

First stop:  San Jose Church, a building that dates back to 1905 and possesses a wealth statuary heritage, which comprises images crafted by Italian sculptor Enrico Pacciani.

Second stop:  San Alejo Church, the church operated as vice-parish in 1827, and was canonically established in 1867. 

Third stop:  Santo Domingo church, this church was built in 1548, being the oldest in the city.

Fourth stop:  San Agustin church. The current temple made of concrete dates back to 1913.

Fifth stop:  La Merced church. The temple dates back to 1896 when it was made of wood and was burnt in the great fire of that year. The concrete church was finished in 1936.

Sixth stop: Nuestra Señora de los Angeles (Our Lady of Angels) church, best known as San Francisco, since it was established by the Franciscans.

Seventh stop: The Metropolitan Cathedral Saint Peter the Apostle, traditional temple of the city. 

Related Posts